Helping others

This week has been quite the experience. As a group member of the BP Oil Spill tract, I helped canvass low-income apartment complexes to offer free legal help to those that were economically or medically injured by the disaster. I was accepted and rejected all in one week. While I have been pleasantly surprised by the number of people who feel comfortable answering their door in their undergarments, I have been humbled by the suffering some people have endured. For example, today I met one man who worked on an oil rig and lived on the beach when the oil spill occurred. The smell of the oil became unbearable and he and his family had to move further away from the beach just to breathe comfortably. Soon after their move inland, his wife developed two tumors and several of his children developed severe asthma. After explaining to him that the attorneys at the Mississippi Center for Justice are not expecting a penny out of his pocket for representing him, I watched as his eyes filled with tears. He thanked my group profusely for offering help. I remember him saying, “You have no idea what this means to me.” When we left his apartment, I was extremely humbled by his appreciation and realized how incredibly blessed my life is. I’m in great health with a loving family, which is more than most people can say. I thank God for all of the blessings he has given me and I will keep the Gulf Coast in my prayers.

God Bless,

Grace

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

